Some believe that people today have no interest in maintaining the traditional culture of their country or region. Others believe that it is still important to people that we preserve a traditional way of life. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

The preservation of traditional culture is one common topic that has stirred up controversy. While some people believe that it is not necessary to maintain the local culture of their countries, others still recognise the importance of their traditions. Both sides of view will be discussed, and my opinion will be given.

One reason some people are not interested in maintaining their tradition usually think that it is not relevant to their lives. One good example is the traditional belief that married couples should have children. To explain, couples nowadays are not planning to have children. This is because they want to focus on their careers and freedom. Another reason is that globalisation has influenced their lives. For example, most of the teenagers care less about local music because they prefer to listen to international music, which is trending globally. In addition, they tend to spend time on social media, where global culture gets exposed. As a result, they are less interested in local cultures. Because of these two reasons, many think local cultures should not be strictly maintained.

On the other hand, others, including me, are still interested in preserving their culture. One reason is that it can foster social cohesion. For example, during the tradition of Songkran in Thailand, people will go back to their hometowns to spend time with their families and friends. This local festival allows a lot of people to celebrate together, which makes people feel more connected. Another reason is that culture can help make money for the country. One example is that the beautiful temples, such as Wat Pra Kaew, etc, have been a tourist attraction. In addition, they also bring a lot of money to local people. As a result, this industry can create jobs to support people and develop the local area. Because of these reasons, the local traditions are worth preserving.

In conclusion, while people think that maintaining the local culture is not crucial, I think that it is still needed to preserve our beautiful culture because of the social cohesion and tourist spots that are created by our traditions. If we do not maintain local culture, our noble cultures will continually fade and disappear in the end.