Some believe that younger family members should be legally responsible for supporting older family members when they become physically, mentally and financially unable to look after themselves. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The moment people become older, they have some difficulties related to their physical, mental, and financial problems; thus they need their relatives who are still young to look after them and be responsible to accompany them. I do not think that this is the best way to deal with the situation because of specific reasons.

First and foremost, younger members of family are relatively too busy to take care of the elderly. Young people usually have some particular activities that they should do, such as studying and working. Those are not ideal conditions for older people, especially those who have difficulty to move their body because they probably need someone to assist them. For example, when grandparents suffer from stroke, they do not have the ability to get up from their bed to do their basic needs like going to lavatory or feeding themselves. In this situation, if their son or daughter have jobs to do and cannot stay at home, there will be no one that can accompany the elder ones.

In addition, some elderly need professional help for their condition. In particular circumstances where grandparents have mental illness or need special attention for their vital organs, to monitor them; such as doctor, nurse, or psychologist. For instance, people in their late 70s could have problems with their mental state where they might have Alzheimer’s and forget something important. They probably need daily treatment and monitoring from particular fields related to mental illness; so it will not cause further issues.

To sum up, as people grow older, they struggle with their health, emotional, or financial, so people might think it will be the best for their family to do a favour for them. However, I disagree with this opinion because relatives have their own schedules and are unable to assist them in some circumstances.