Some children are home schooled. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages of home schooling?

Studying at home is becoming more and more prominent among children. In my opinion, home schooling has more drawbacks than benefits.

One of the advantages of studying at home is that it is more convenient for some groups of children. Children with disabilities might find studying at school frustrating. For example, a child with inability to walk can not use stairs without special assistance. Meanwhile, at home he can study without worries about moving around, thus he will stay more focused on learning.

On the other hand, there are some disadvantages of this method of schooling. The major one is a lack of socializing. School not only teaches students about different subjects, but also has a crucial influence on their ability to communicate with other people. It is something that one can not learn from books, social experience children get in school is irreplaceable. Students spend a huge amount of their time at school and during it they learn how to behave appropriately in different situations. Most importantly, at school children can find friends. Some of these connections can remain many years after graduating.

Furthermore, home schooled children get less opportunities to become more independent. Most of the time they spend at home with their parents who help them to cope with problems. It is great to have helpful parents as long as they do not take care of a child excessively. At home a child receive more help whereas a student who goes to school can do more things independently.

Home schooling can be a suitable option for some children. However, it has limitations such as lack of socializing and independency for student.