SOME CHILDREN NOWADAYS TAKE SPORTS SERIOUSLY, WHILE OTHERS PLAY SPORTS IN THEIR FREE TIME. IS IT A POSITIVE OR NEGATIVE DEVELOPMENT.

It is argued that playing sports in a competitive attitude is becoming an increasingly common trend among young people instead of playing just for fun. In this essay, I would provide reasons behind why this development is highly detrimental.

The first reason why I disagree is that children who pursue professional sports often face a sense of physical health issues on a daily basis. For example, in the field of professional sports, the requirements of becoming a top player is massive given the competitiveness and the quality of top tournaments or champoinships, meaning that they have to spend more time to engage in many rigorous training, particularly strength and stamina training or technique mastering. However, their body are prone to damage for external stress, making easily physical injuries.

Another reason is that becoming a professional player at an early age exposes them to various kinds of social burdens. Thanks to the development of society, many children have good skills and techniques in some sports such as football, basketball, or badminton, who will be recognised by journalists and paparazzi, making more pay attention on many social media sites. As a result, it accidentally puts pressure on younger professional players, leading to them getting many mental health problems like stress, resulting in a reduction in professional level.

In conclusion, I am complete disagreement that playing sports competitively is a common trend for many children. This is because excessive physical training and social pressure can negatively affect both their physical and mental health, making this trend more harmful than beneficial.