Some children spend hours everyday on their computers, tablets, smartphones and spend a large part of freetime using their devices. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

A considerable number of people believe that children spend more time on video games and digital devices rather than playing outside. This essay will argue that the disadvantages of this trend outweigh the benefits. The essay will demonstrate how technology alters children’s lives, before explaining why it can be harmful.

On the one hand, spending a lot of time on digital devices and video games provides children with such opportunities like socializing without even stepping outside. The young can easily find new friends via social media apps like Instagram, TikTok and many others and instantly start chatting with them. Another benefit is that youth can learn language, play useful vocabulary games and much more to develop their soft skills. For instance, app called Duolingo can help them master the language they learn and gain understanding of idioms.

On the other hand, allocating excessive amount of time on screens can have a detrimental effect on young people. For example, their eyesight can slowly worsen due to prolonged screen use. Also, because of staying at home all the time, it can have a big impact on social skills, face-to-face communication and obesity. To illustrate, being at home 24/7 without doing any physical activity can result in serious health issues. Obesity is the number one problem for young children.

In conclusion, using technological devices can help those who want to achieve their goals, such as learning new languages and improving themselves generally. But the disadvantages are more significant. Excessive reliance on such gadgets can harm their eyesight and lead to health issues.