Some cities have vehicle-free days when private cars, trucks and motorcycles are banned from the city center. People are encouraged to use public transportation such as buses, taxis and metro on vehiclefree days. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Citizens in a number of cities have established vehicle-free days, in which private vehicles like cars, motorcycles and transportation like trucks might be deprived of use, replaced with public transportation instead. While this turn of event can be taken into account as beneficial on the surface of it, many detrimental consequences may emerge and overwhelm its concomitant advantages.

On the one hand, it is obvious that these vehicle-free days could bring about potential benefits, mostly to the environmental state and promotion of public transportation. Private transports are considered as one of the main culprits to the exacerbating trend of environment due to carbon emissions and many other pollutants resulting from their exhaust fumes, which should be reduced significantly on vehicle-free days and, thereby, checking the gradual development of environmental contamination. In addition, since public transportations are highly encouraged, citizens may slowly adapt to the conveniences of buses and metros, changing their mode of transport to these local methods. As a result, travel service businesses will earn a great deal in terms of profits from those days.

On the other hand, I believe that with transportation and the usage of private vehicles being prohibited, the occurrence of their drawbacks may undoubtedly appear, including dissatisfaction among citizens and companies. When trucks and transporting methods are restricted, their services will also be affected, operating in a less effective way, such as goods will appear late or even little on markets, hence increasing their prices and giving rise to inconveniences. Besides, using buses or taxis are not always good according to some people as their privacies are also limited. When commuting with one’s vehicles, people may have the access to stop at anywhere they want and do whatever they could or have to on their own, whereas public transportations may induce required suitable etiquettes to their experiences on travelling with strangers and, consequently, creating a sense of uncomformities.

In conclusion, vehicle-free day is good in general, as can be witnessed in their implications on the environment, yet it might possess disadvantages to everyone, especially in economical and convenient terms.