Some cities have vehicle-free days when private cars, trucks and motorcycles are banned from the city center. People are encouraged to use public transportation such as buses, taxis and metro on vehiclefree days. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Many metropolises have vehicle-free days when personal automobiles, trucks and motorcycles are prohibited from the urban areas’ authorities. Individuals are motivated to arrive by mass transit such as buses, taxis and subways on vehicle-free days. From my perspective, the drawbacks of this view exceed the benefits.

On the one hand, public vehicles are able to improve natural environmental situations on the Earth. Particularly, these types of transports normally have a major capacity which helps to decrease the carbon emissions and other polluting substances for the environment. Similarly, this is a possible commute measure for dwellers who have low income to save their money. For instance, the price of a bus ticket is cheaper than the cost of a personal car.

On the other hand, despite these merits, many demerits need to be considered. Initially, public vehicles such as buses may have their fixed buslines; therefore, those transports are not appropriate for some inhabitants who have demands to go to particular sites. Similarly, uncomfortable smells and noises can not be ignored. For instance, several passengers may chat with others loudly or have strange strange smells such as the smell of sweat.

Summarily, notwithstanding certain upsides of the prohibition from trucks, cars and motorcycles for the sake of vehicle-free days, I strongly believe that the downsides are far more pronounced.