Some cities have vehicle-free days when private cars, trucks, and motorcycles are banned from the city center. Public transportation like buses, taxis, and metros are advised. (Do you think the advantages of this policy outweigh the disadvantages?)

Nowadays, many urban areas have vehicle-free days that means using various types of transport such as private cars, trucks and motorcycles are forbidden in a certain day. Commuters use public transport like buses, taxis and metro on that day. Some group of individuals claimed that this phenomenon leads to many drawbacks, while I personally believe that positives outweigh the negatives.

There are many positive sides of vehicle-free days. One of the compelling advantages is influence of air quality. Because transports are one of the basic sources of air pollution which produce a variety of harmful gases and emissions into atmosphere. For instance, every Friday is announced a vehicle-free day in Uzbekistan, as a result air quality improved notably. Therefore, vehicle-free days give a great impact to air quality and this factor helps to avoid some illness linked with breathing and lungs. In terms of another key positive side, that days encourage healthy lifestyle, reason why people use public transport or walking, cycling as a result they are obliged to do physical activity.

In the past that nowadays some people who have a private car use a car for close distance, that means sedentary lifestyle rate is increased. This circumstance may lead to many diseases like high blood pressure, heart diseases and others. In short, vehicle-free days are beneficial for people health and it promotes physical activities.

However, there are some negative sides of implemented vehicle-free days. Initially, it may cause some inconvenience due to the fact that some commuters may be late at the school or work as a result of chaos and disorganization at public transports on vehicle-free days. In addition, this policy creates extra burden for public transport. Therefore, this circumstance may not lead to intended result if public transport is not well-developed. Secondly, vehicle-free days may give negative effect on some business. Since some business depend on delivery services, consequently they cannot send any goods or products to the customers or cannot receive products which are important for their operation.

In conclusion, although there are many drawbacks of vehicle-free days, positive sides such as improve air quality and encourage healthy lifestyle outweigh the disadvantages.