Some claim that the media is unnecessarily biased. What are the reasons for this? What can be done about it?

It is partially argued that most information produced by the media is inevitably biased. I believe that the main cause of this problem is the inherent political interest of media companies and to shed light on this issue, it is crucial to ask the active role of the press council.

What is at stake of media independence is its incapability to get across impartial news owing to entrenched political interest. In turn, It goes without saying that information produced by some media companies tends to be unneutral. In this case, news might be framed to shape the public opinion in favour of political cliques. In general elections, for instance, different media mostly publish contentious views on political parties or politicians. This bias is partly argued as a result of tightly political linkage which is twisted between media and some prominent politicians who own the party and media as well.

To cope with this critical issue, the public needs to ask the key role of pers council to supervise media’s content. This board must impose strict regulation so as to control and evaluate the substance of news. In doing so, the council should draw on the pers stances. For example, the council should have an annual supervision to investigate the extent to which media companies apply the cover both sides principle in their news production. This paves the way for more trusted journalistic works.

In conclusion, the pervasive bad quality of the media’s information is mostly resulted from political interest embedded within the media company. As such, we need an annual supervision to ensure good contents based on good journalistic principles