Some claim that the media is unnecessarily biased. What are the reasons for this? What can be done about it?

Nowadays the media plays a vital role in spreading information, whilst several individuals cite that it also broadcasts true and false facts. This essay will initially elaborate on two possible reasons and subsequently propose multiple solutions that can be taken to tackle this problem.

Biased information can often occur when the editors make poor selections and terrible curation, so that media, such as magazines, articles, and so on, tend to produce inaccurate, misleading, or skewed reporting. Furthermore, if writers cannot write great sentences, they will tend to generate sensationalist headlines for society. For example, when some media in Indonesia provided articles about the vaccine for COVID-19, they informed that it contained a chip and pig’s serum, so many people were shocked. Hence, the government and journalists must overcome this issue by providing training on how to write and seek the news correctly based on the facts. Also, this action will aid and hone the writers’ skills.

Another problem is that the owners of media have personal interests, which can lead to how ideas and articles are formed, published, and read by readers, although they have copywriters to check sentences. Furthermore, this occurs as journalists do not have licenses or certificates such as Certified Professional Resume Writers (CPSW), so they are easily able to manipulate the information based on their opinions or what they want. During the presidential election in Indonesia, some media manipulated the information about several candidate’s track records by which based on experts’ research, they were paid to exaggerate. Thus, policymakers and publishers need to handle potential problems by making rules by which every journalist who does not have the legal authority must be punished if they create impartial evidence, and the requirement must pass the correct process. As a rule of thumb, it can generate information that does not mislead societies.

In conclusion, the rise of unnecessarily biased information brings negative effects on societies. Furthermore, effective policies can be made to mitigate the trouble by using training and making rules, and journalists or the government should encourage the media to safeguard the quality of their news.