Some companies encourage workers to be competitive, while others encourage teamwork. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Today because of the Internet progress more and more offline activities and services are switching to online mode. So business meetings are not an exception, nevertheless, we are able to track this process , moreover , to notice the advantages and disadvantages.

First of all , I would like to say about the advantages of online business meetings. Without a doubt , it is more comfortable to connect online from home , co-working place or even a cafe , rather then gather for hours and go to the place where the conference will be. Of course if you live nearby and the travel to it doesn’t take a lot of your time – the mentioned fact is not a significant advantage, however , if you have to spend an hour or even more to get to your workplace, in my opinion, online meeting is really a treasure ! So from this follows that they are rather convenient and are able to make your timetable more flexible.

But what are the disadvantages of such process? I believe that on account of activities taking place online , you can have problems with self-organisation. For instance, if you have an important meeting in a real life , you prepare a lot of things for it and of course you suit up accordingly. But in case of having it online , you may skip some parts of morning routine, for example, drinking a coffee , and do it during the meeting. Another essential fact is a severity and necessity of a conference. I am convinced that all important business meetings must be definitely offline. I can justify it by the fact that we perceive information and transmit ourselves better in a real life . As we all know, these facts are able to make the meeting successful; also I would like to add nonverbal communication that plays a great role in such meetings, and mostly we recognise it precisely offline.

To sum up , I would like to say that as everything in our life the process of business conferences taking place online has its pros and cons. Nevertheless, I believe that we should analyse and choose a type which is the most convenient and is able to ensure us with the advantages we need.