Some countries are building new roads and facilitates to make remote cultural heritage sites such as archaeological ruins in the jungle accessible to a greater number of tourists. Is this a positive or negative devolopment? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge.

In some countries, new infrastructure is being built to improve access to remote cultural heritage sites and some of the ancient ruins in the jungle, making them more easily reachable to a large number of tourists. This improvement has both beneficial tourism sides and disadvantageous environmental sides, which should be carefully considered.

On the one hand, creating advantages for tourists leads to attracting more international visitors to the country, which plays a crucial role in tourism. Moreover, the government becomes more motivated to preserve heritage carefully and maintain these sites for future generations. In addition, as we know, most tourists are interested in different types of cuisines, traditional crafts, and national cultural experiences; therefore, it leads to development of individuals’ small businesses that ensures a lot of opportunities to people from disadvantaged backgrounds. This also helps local communities earn additional income and promotes cultural exchange.

On the other hand, there is no denying that its inevitable effect cannot be overlooked while discussing wildlife. Apart from wildlife, it also provides several severe environmental issues, specifically in fragile areas. Increased pollution and waste create an inevitable critical risk for habitats of both aquatic and terrestrial animals. Furthermore, heavy foot traffic may cause erosion, which can lead to flooding and landslides. The importance of habitats cannot be overstated, particularly in relation to the survival of endangered species.

To sum up, while it provides financial opportunities to the country, vegetation and natural landscapes are influenced by several factors, including flooding, landslides, and pollution. Despite some advantages, the negative sides outweigh the positive sides, which shows the importance of careful planning and sustainable tourism management.