Some countries are experiencing a decline in traditional arts and crafts due to the popularity of mass-produced goods. Do the advantages of mass production outweigh the disadvantages of losing traditional skills and products?

In today’s world, conventional arts and crafts have lost their recognition among people and have been replaced by machine-made products.Moreover, the rise of modern entertainment has forced craftsmen and artists to change their careers to earn a livelihood.

Firstly, traditional craft products have been replaced by mass-produced products and lost their value in the market. As a result, craftsmen have changed their profession in order to have a better life. Factory products provide a better life than handmade products, even though they are cheaper and easily affordable by everyone.To recapitulate, a traditional handwoven saree takes a longer time to weave, although the same can be produced in larger numbers in factories with heavy machines. Similarly, handmade products like pottery, wooden furniture, and paintings are now produced in larger quantities in manufacturing units and at an affordable price. As a result, they have gained more importance than the traditional ones among consumers.

Furthermore, with the rapid development of cinema and other entertainment platforms like video games, PlayStations, and mobile phones, people have lost their interest in traditional stage plays. As a result, alternate careers are being chosen by the stage performers in the cinema industry, like lightsmen, assistant directors, and makeup artists. Several technologies are being developed with AI technology, like content creation and video editing. In the future, most of the jobs will be replaced by AI tools. To exemplify, song lyrics and music will be written and composed by AI.

In conclusion, every advancement in technology has both positive and negative impacts. Although it has led to the decline of traditional crafts, it provides various benefits to consumers, such as affordable products and better entertainment.