Some countries have introduced laws to limit the working hours that an employer can ask from an employee. Why are these law introduced? Is this a positive or negative trend?

In some countries, the number of working hours is limited by laws. In my opinion, it is a positive development that not only protects employees rights but also benefit the working process.

One of the primary arguments for this law is that many employers tend to abuse their power by making subordinates live at work. This cannot help but affect their mental and physical conditions resulting in depression and burnout. That is why the authorities have to take some legal measures to safeguard the rights of ordinary people. Being protected by the law, an individual may sue their boss for explotation and unlimited working time.

Another issue is that the time limit influences productivity in a positive way, as people think more about time management. Having a surplus of time, people might easily get distracted by social media or coworker conversations and start procrastinating. Thanks to the tight deadlines, they are likely to mobilize all their inner resources and come up with solutions quicker.

Overall, I believe that moral exhaustion is harmful not only for employees but for the whole company. In other words, a mechanism cannot function properly if at least one detail is broken. Without a shadow of a doubt, it can be said that each person has a certain margin of safety, whose depletion makes them inefficient and prone to making mistakes. To avoid serious problems, companies should care more about their workers, who represent components of the system.

In conclusion, such laws enable people to legally stand up for themselves and prevent them from having health issues. In addition, the company owner can take great advantage of it as well, because workers become more organized and effective in order to complete tasks by a particular time.