Some countries have introduced laws to limit working hours for employees. Why are these laws introduced? Do you think they are a positive or negative development?

In recent years, many countries have implemented legislation regarding a limit on the working hours that workers can receive from their employers. While such laws may have been introduced in order to protect individual well-being of workers, I view this trend as largely positive. Since, reducing the amount of time people work not only assists them to lead more satisfactory and fulfilling lives but also increases workplace productivity.

One major reason why many governments have introduced a limit lies beside the need to protect workers’ both mental and physical well-being. As working long hours can lead to mental exhaustions and burnouts in employees, it can increase their likelihood of encountering health-related problems. It is even scientifically proven that those who tend to devote a lot of time to their work are most susceptible to face chronic diseases in the long run. By implementing strict legislation however, many nations aim to eliminate such risks.

From my perspective, the trend is a favorable development overall. First and foremost, it assists individuals in striking a balance between their work and social life. As a means of distracting from the worries of life, many people tend to engage in their hobbies or spend quality time with their family. Therefore, reducing the amount of time people work provides them the opportunity to get away from the hustle and bustle of life and lead a better quality of life. Additionally, such trend can benefit organizations as a whole. Reduced working hours gives the chance for people to have a rest. As a result of this, workers tend to function better and they become more aware of their surroundings, thereby leading to enhanced productivity levels among them.

In conclusion, the primary implication for the limit on the working hours is to ensure people’s overall well-being are safe. I strongly consider that it is a positive development, as it would significantly improve the quality of many people’s lives and benefit organizations as a whole.