Some countries have recently passed laws limiting the daily working hours of employees. Do you think this will have a positive or negative impact?

In recent times, a few nations have ordained new decrees to limit the regular office hours for workforces. While a few people argue that this trend might have adverse effects on the quality of work outcome, I strongly believe that reduced functional hours for office staff might benefit the employer at large and the well-being of the personnel in specific. The essay will discuss both sides with reasons and relevant examples.

Some people argue that the new policy might be detrimental to the progression of the country. The major reason for this is that most occupations are significantly associated with the economy of the countries and if working hours are decreased, the work output would drastically deteriorate the long term profits and shares of companies and businesses. For instance, companies might tend to pay less to the employees for reduction of hours which could lead to losing skilled workers as well as losing potential business to your opponent. This could lead to bankruptcy of businesses and a crash in the share market. It is evident from the above illustrations that this trend will have a profound negative impact on the advancement of the country.

However, according to me, reduction of office hours if executed well might have a positive impact on the advancement of the company. Firstly, it might promote a work life balance that might enhance the well-being of the employer as well as the employee who might tend to be more productive and creative reaping rich dividends for the business or company. Moreover, it reduces staff attrition which is beneficial for the company’s returns that might enhance the GDP estimates of the country. Secondly, reduction of hours also assists the businesses for an effective management of cost cutting on the operations of the company especially, during a recession of the business. For example, it allows you to spend less on power and office space as well as managing their performance and getting the most out of your employees.

In conclusion, this trend has both a positive as well as a negative impact on the performance of businesses and companies. In my opinion, the well- being of the staff should take top priority as it improves their performance escalating the economical growth of the country. It is predicted that, in future most companies would adhere to this trend for the benefit of the society.