Some countries import a large amount of food from other parts of the world. To what extent is this a positive or negative trend?

Due to food shortage or unfavorable weather, various nations import a large quantity of food from other countries. While some critics assume that this will restrict national growth when relying too much on foreign items, I am of the opinion that importation is essential for citizens to be adequately provided with food.

On the one hand, excessive dependence on overseas products makes a country vulnerable to fluctuations in the international market. For example, when the average prices of food items increase in foreign markets, imported countries have to accept and buy with the high price to satisfy domestic needs. Consequently, this will make industries or services related to this product more expensive, making people’s spending costly. Additionally, due to the transportation between countries, the environment is affected detrimentally. Various modes of transport are utilized to deliver from overseas farms to local supermarkets, resulting in higher consumption of fossil fuels and rising emissions of carbon dioxide which causes the greenhouse gas effect.

On the other hand, purchasing food from other regions can diversify the food supply, which is unable to be cultivated in an area because of its incompatibility with climate and soil. Thus, by this way, the citizens have a variety of food choices that can meet their interests and enhance their culinary experience. Thanks to overseas competition, the monopoly of a certain food selling domestically can be mitigated, which can be capitalized on by indigenous companies to increase product prices. Also, through importation, countries have to pass discussions and negotiations before coming to a mutual trading agreement, which facilitates commercial relationships and fosters international cooperation, contributing to the national economy. Furthermore, importing food is essential to tackle food insecurity, especially in overpopulated countries, in order to avoid poverty status.

In conclusion, although I recognize that too much reliance on foreign foods can cause adverse influences on the environment and national development, I contend that the advantages the country can obtain are outweighed, including meeting pressing needs and boosting beneficial connections in the global market.