Some countries import a large amount of food from other parts of the world. To what extent is this a positive or negative trend?

In recent years, it has become more common for some countries to import most of the food products from abroad. Although I admit that there are some negative consequences of importing, such as negative impacts on local farmers and high costs, I believe the benefits, such as access to a variety of foods and economic growth, are more significant.

On the one hand, there are two obvious negative effects of importing food products. First of all, if an amount of food brought from other countries is increased, local farmers will have difficulty earning money for their families and their future plans. As a result, in the country, the number of people living in poverty may increase compared to previous years. Furthermore, Importing food leads to higher costs. Thereby, this forces many people to focus on earning more money rather than improving their work productivity. For instance, in Uzbekistan, the prices of foods have been rising more year after year. That is why a lot of individuals, even though they had studied at a university before, such as some teachers, engineers, and doctors, may struggle to go to other countries so as to find well-paid jobs in comparison with their former work.

On the other hand, despite some causing issues, I still believe that several primary benefits will emerge. One primary benefit is that importing food products allows countries to enjoy a wide range of food that they would not normally have due to climate or geography, increasing variety in diets and boosting nutrition. That is to say, this may help people improve their health. Besides that, transporting food from foreign nations can enhance trade relationships among several countries and contribute to the economy. This creates numerous opportunities to international contracts and collaborations. In other words, all humans can enter the countries easily in order to make a business, trade, and live, but they also boost their personalities and work productivity. For example, citizens who live in Singapore have access to go visa-free to more than 150 parts of the world owing to imports of almost everything and, also, good relationships. Hence, Singapore is being popular and convenient for living in spite of the smallness of the territory.

In conclusion, I believe that the negative outcomes of the discussed topic can be avoided by taking proper actions, and, to me, it seems to be positive development after all.