Some countries spend a lot of money preparing competitors to take part in major competitions such as Olympic Games or football World Cup. Some people say that it would be better to spend this money encouraging children to take up sports from a young age.

Many nations apply funds to international sports events while other people support diverting more funds to cultivating kids in sports fields. In my opinion, I believe that spending more money on the preparation of significant sports competitions is necessary as more investment will be attracted by champions and win the reputation of a nation to the world.

Admittedly, children can benefit from sports cultivation, but spending more money on them can be seen as a waste, given the courses provided by schools are enough for them to exercise physically. P.E. classes that are corporated in schools include basic exercises such as basketball and tennis, which have satisfied the need for their growth. Additionally, the major task for students is to focus on academic performance rather than doing professional sports, excessive training projects are redundant to them.

In contrast, more investment in specific sports events benefits a nation in terms of economy with generous reciprocations. With more professional training and resources accessed, there will be more chances of cultivating outstanding athletes who will win honors for their country, and under the witness of audiences and exposure worldwide, the vast commercial value of gold medal winners can be seen with more sponsorships and endorsements, as their images are persuasive with achievements. Therefore, these athletes would not only contribute more taxes and attract many of their fans to travel to their motherland but also set a powerful and decent image for the world, thus saving a huge amount of propagandistic money for a nation.

In conclusion, the sports system in schools is already adequate to support students’ physical needs, diverting funds to professional area will be more meaningful to developing the local economy.