Some countries spend a lot of money to make bicycle usage easier. Why is this? Is this the best solution to traffic congestion?

In recent years, several governments have allocated substantial financial resources to encourage developing cycling infrastructure. I believe this trend is mainly driven by public considerations and environmental goals.

Governments are promoting cycling among individuals and there are two reasons for this strategy: First and foremost, considering public health. Many commuters, get to their work or schools by public transport or on their own cars. As a result they will be more likely to expose health issues, such as chronic diseases due to lack of physical movement. If governments stimulate riding bikes, they implement at least some recreational activities while going to their work, thereby contributing to improve public well-being. Furthermore, there is another factor why governments are investing heavily on cycling, which is primarily driven by environmental challenges. As more individuals are using public vehicles on their daily basis, more cars and buses releasing harmful emissions, which ultimately leads to environmental degradation. For this governments should make people aware of environmental problems, reinforcing the idea nature needs our help. Once they raise public awareness, individuals will ride bicycles for commuting, deterring environmental issues.

In conclusion, some countries spending on make cycling easier to inhibit problems related to both public health and the environment. Although this trend result in few minor difficulties, yet I am in favor of the idea.