Some educationalists argue that non-exam, arts-based subjects, such as music, drama, art and craft, should be compulsory in the secondary-school curriculum. They believe that activities such as these can improve overall academic performance. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued by many educators that subjects such as music , plays, art and craft et cetera should be part of the studies while others believe that it is not compulsory to have those subjects in school. I also think that art based subjects can really help students in improving their overall performance.

To begin with, music and other extra-curricular activities not only help children to refresh their minds and relax but also helps in developing characteristics such as activeness, positivity and confidence among students. Additionally, it is seen that when children are involved in these type of art activities they are more likely to perform well in academics. For instance, a recent study by Cambridge University in 2018 shows that 80 percent of the students who performed well in studies are those who actively took part in extra curricular activities which vividly shows the positive impact of these art based subjects.

Furthermore, taking part in music, drama, art and craft classes helps children in developing different skills and talents which could be very useful for them in choosing their future career. Art based subjects are equally important in schooling because not everyone is good at studies and these subjects helps students to explore more about themselves. For example, a student who might not be good in academics might excel in other fields. Thus, it should be mandatory to include them in the secondary curriculum

In conclusion, I would like to state that no doubt art based subjects are presumed as less important and waste of time by many individuals but the actual value and benefits of these extra curricular activities are way beyond than that. So these subjects should always be made available for students.