Some educationalists argue that non-exam, arts-based subjects, such as music, drama, art and craft, should be compulsory in the secondary-school curriculum. They believe that activities such as these can improve overall academic performance. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that art should be compulsory at schools, because they think that art-based subjects can positively impact on students’ academic performances. I personally disagree with this assertion for some reasons which will be explained below.

One the one hand, it is essential to acknowledge some advantages. First and foremost, art can help people to be creative. This is mainly because, artists, first, should imagine in order to create what they intend to. Although it can broaden people’s mind, it does not have any importance in real life. Apart from this, art can be a great way to become famous and rich. Some artists such as Lianardo da Vinci, Frida Kahlo and Pablo Picasso would be great examples. However, it is also true that rarely do people who have interests in art become successful, as art also requires a lot of effort and dedication.

On the other hand, there are some disadvantages to consider too. One of these is that there are more important subjects at school compared to art-based subjects at schools. That is, studying art instead of science subjects such as, chemistry, biology and pysics can be waste of time and resources. Aside from this, such subjects can not be useful for individual job prospects. The reason is that even though school students are interested in art , they sometimes do not take it seriously and consider art as a job.

In conclusion, although it might be said that art subjects should be tought at schools as it can boost creativity and can be a chance to become successful, I consider they are unimportant since it is waste of time and not useful for one’s future career.