Some educationalists argue that non-exam, arts-based subjects, such as music, drama, art and craft, should be compulsory in the secondary-school curriculum. They believe that activities such as these can improve overall academic performance. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that art should be compulsory in secondary schools. I personally support this assertion for two principal reasons, which will be explained below.

On the one hand, I believe that it is important to learn art-based subjects because, in order to create something, people should imagine it before creating it. But it is not essential for real life. This is simply because, in many cases, people cannot create what they imagine. Apart from this, science subjects are more important than art subjects. To put this into perspective, science subjects help people find jobs, but art subjects do not. Yes, it may help to find a job, but many people cannot find jobs in art. It may help some talented people, like Leonardo Da Vinci, become famous and rich. This is why it is a waste of time and resources, such as paintings, colors, and papers.

Having said that, I support learning science subjects or other subjects that would be helpful for students’ future careers over learning art-based subjects. In my opinion, it is not something that teachers should teach students. One prime example is that if children are not interested in art, they cannot learn anything. Another important consideration is that art is relaxing, but it cannot help you in real life.

In conclusion, although it might be said that art-based subjects should be compulsory for high school students, I believe they should not be compulsory for school students.