Some employers offer their employees subsidized membership of gyms and sports clubs, believing that this will make their staff healthier and thus more effective at work. Other employers see no benefit in doing so. Consider the arguments from both aspects of this possible debate, and reach a conclusion.

Often are today’s employers seeking ways to enhance their employees’ productivity. While some people believe that subsidizing healthy pursuits should be taken into account to achieve this goal, others feel that it should be excluded from the options due to some plausible reasons. There are arguments on both sides, however, which we will discuss here.

On the one side, proponents of this view say that if workers are fitter and less stressed, their working time will be more efficient, leading to higher levels of output and service. Furthermore, advocates of this opinion argue that the work/life balance of the staff will hopefully be improved, because their leisure time will be more fulfilling. This may even be more motivating than pay increments, perks, or financial rewards such as bonuses or incentives which may be hard to attain. Finally, supporters of this idea believe that feeling healthier may lead to better job satisfaction which is in itself a motivating factor.

On the other side, however, the opponents of subsidized sport argue that the problem with such leisure-based subsidies is that their efficacy is virtually impossible to quantify. For example, with target-related payments, employers can at least see whether the objectives are reached or not. It might also be said that, if this budget was spent on (for instance) the job training or day release programmes, the employees would achieve better career progression and have better job prospects. These matters are all easier to measure, especially in performance reviews and appraisals, and may even help to reduce the risk of redundancy if the company restructures, downsizes or outsources its workforce.

Taking everything into account, in spite of some potential drawbacks, it seems to me that health-related subsidies are worth implementing because of the positive impacts tha employees may gain to motivate themselves and reach higher levelsof performance. Of course, this is provided that employers keep spending funds on ongoing training to ensure better career development of their employees.