Some employers want to be able to contact their staff at all times, even on holidays. Does this development have more advantages than disadvantages?

Contacting his/her staff by an employer to discuss about work updates even on holidays has more disadvantages than advantage. As a period of time, this affects employees work-life balance considerably.

In present day, both public and private sector works on the basis of achieving goals. This creates an healthy environment in a competitive world and therefore monitoring day to day activity by the employers plays a key role for any work/business model. On the other side, if this work monitoring exceeds the threshold, it has serious impact on both employee as well as the employer.

For instance, when an employee is contacted frequently that too on holidays have serious impact on his/her work-life balance. Eventually, this leads to increase in work stress and decrease in productivity. Although, the effect is not felt initially, as a period of time this affects greatly the performance of the organisation. As a matter of fact, employees enthusiasm is the heart line of any organisation, some people fail to consider employees well being for the sake of target.

Companies in country like united kingdom, trying to implement 4 day / week work culture. This approach has brought them two benefits. 1. increase in productivity as there is an significant improvement in the well being of the employees. 2. the understanding between employees and the employer has significantly increased. Hence the work gets completed in the stipulated time which yields more profit to the employer.

As a conclusion, considering the well being of the employee and organisation, the employers should stick to monitor their subordinates only in the working hours and not beyond that unless the situation is critical.