Some ex-prisoners commit crimes after being released from prison. What do you think is the cause? How can it be solved?

It is a sad fact that a large of criminals who serve their first sentence, leave prison only to reoffend. In this essay, I would like to discuss the reasons for this situation, followed by my suggestions which can assist in preventing crimes.

As far as factors for recidivism should be taken into the first consideration, the true nature of offenders and the sanctions against them are not harsh enough. In other words, being punished does not make a huge difference to convicts, which leads to the possibility that these people are normally unable to realize the detrimental consequences that branching the law will entail victims and society, and such behavior is likely to be re-exhibited as a result. Moreover, ex-prisoners are not completely accepted in society. People released from prison seem to be automatically judged as those whose character is poor and their lack of rehabilitation whilst in prison, which means that they are not given the chance to retrain and learn new skills. For that reason, their family and friends may not embrace them and employers refuse to recruit them. Therefore, many of them struggle financially, leading them back to crime paths.

In terms of effective solutions to the problem of repeat lawbreakers, one way to tackle this is prisons can associate with individual businesses to organize labor and vocational training for delinquents which will ensure them a job and help them have the opportunity to better integrate into community after serving their first sentence. Another method of dealing with wrongdoers is the implementation of more punitive and supervision measures. Only when people are truly conscious of their violating the law both physically and psychologically can stop themselves from committing crimes. For instance, a longer stint of community service or jail sentence is respectively appropriate for criminals with minor crimes or serious ones.

In conclusion, regardless of the reasons for recidivism, organizing training and education in prison as well as harsher punishment and closer observation for newly released offenders can be practical in preventing criminals from reoffending.