Some experts believe that children should learn foreign languages at primary schools

Many people believe that kids should learn a foreign language at an early age, and some believe it can happen later on. In my opinion, children should learn a foreign language early on in life because it is easier. In this essay, I will be discussing both views.

Firstly, children can learn better at a young age; it is considered better than when they grow older. A study at Harvard showed that the children who got to learn any type of skill tended to learn faster and to stay with them much longer than learning later on. From personal experience, my sister learned English as her second language from a young age, but stopped at the age of 12. She is as good as new when it comes to the language; it’s like she never stopped.

However, I do understand the people who want to teach their kids later on because they want them to focus more on the native language of the children and to make sure they perfect it. Furthermore, it’s common among expatriate parents; they want to keep their main language alive.

In conclusion, there are many benefits to learning early on, with studies showing it’s easier for kids to learn and understand. However, some parents want to focus more on their kids’ native language, especially expatriate parent