Some feel that movies and tv shows are a good way to study history despite their lack of historical accuracy at times. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many individuals believe that watching films and TV shows are able to educate people about history despite their lack of historical accuracy at times. I completely disagree with that statement due to two main reasons. First major reason is that the movies which are based on realistic events might include fake content. Another reason is that there are less historical movies compared to other genres and it will be more effective to learn history from books.

In today’s world, people may watch films on TV and the studio which records the movie informs that “This film is based on real events” and individuals do not know that to how extent this information is correct or incorrect. Additionally, in the films movie makers can add extra scenes or events from themselves in order to make the project more attractive and interesting for audience. The film about Harry Potter can be an example for that. The content which gives the Harry Potter’s book version has significant differences compared to the film version. Thus, it will be better to study the past from books because of the some extra content of movies.

Nowadays, there are numerous kind of films and the most famous of them are fiction as well as romantic while historical films have less interest for young generation. Moreover, people spent more time when watching movies than reading books. For instance, people can get much more information when they read a book 1 or 2 hours but while watching a film, they get information about only one event and in some movies the content is separated in two or more series.

In summary, in my point of view, to study history by films is not effective as another type of education.