Some governments provide financial assistance for retired, unemployed and disabled citizens. In other countries, families provide support for these people. Discuss both systems and give your opinion about which one you think is better.

Some countries provide their retired, unemployed, and disabled citizens with financial aid; while other countries that have similar problems could only depend on their families for support. Both resources have their own advantages and disadvantages. However, I believe that the government should have the main role in helping these citizens.

Financial aid is usually given to support families that are having financial troubles either from being retired due to age, unemployed or having a disability. Taxes that are usually paid will be redistributed to families in need. For example, in Indonesia the tax money will be redistributed to families that are facing financial difficulties. Consequently, the families that are having trouble could stress less and focus on trying to find alternative financial sources. However, this help sometimes is not fair to the citizens. Many citizens reported that the monthly government help is usually late therefore resulting in some families to suffer for weeks.

Having family support during hard times is very beneficial. These family members are able to help the struggling family member. From that support, the family member in need would be able to get back on their feet and find a way to resolve their financial issues. For instance, in Indonesia it is believed that helping a family member in need is necessary. Many Indonesian people believed that one struggling family member should be helped because in the future the person would eventually return the favour. However, this is not the case for other people out there. In reality, there are people who do not have any relatives. Therefore, this method is only usable if the struggling person has relatives.

In conclusion, both methods have their own challenges. I strongly believe that the role of the government’s financial assistance would be more helpful for the citizens of any category rather than dominantly leaning against family support.