Some governments provide financial assistance for retired, unemployed and disabled citizens. In other countries, families provide support for these people. Discuss both systems and give your opinion about which one you think is better.

There is a disagreement regarding financial responsibilities for some groups of society. Retired, unemployed and disabled individuals are provided with financial assistance by their government in some countries, whereas it is done by their families in other nations. This essay discusses both perspectives and agrees that governments are responsible for financial support.

It is believed that countries should support all of their citizens without any discrimination. A certain amount of money is regularly allocated from the budget in order to provide financial security for the most vulnerable parts of the population. Although the budget is collected from taxes and fees of working people, it should be equally distributed to all groups of people, such as senior citizens, individuals seeking a job and people with some difficulties in physical movement. This is because retired people have already spent the most of their time at work and deserve a relax to the rest of their lives, and unemployed people are highly likely to find a job in the future and enter the labor force. Regarding disabled individuals, it was not their will to be born with some health issues, and they are considered as a full member of the society. Hence, all of them can rely on government’s support without any doubt.

However, the burden of financial assistance is on the family members in some nations. Governments prefer to take into account only the most essential problems to tackle with while allocating the budget, and the vulnerable groups of people are not considered to be on the agenda. This is because individuals can get the financial help based on the amount of their input to the budget, and no matter of their life and health conditions.

In conclusion, even though families are financially responsible for their disabled, unemployed, and retired members in some countries, I strongly believe that both citizens from vulnerable and working groups should be financially supported by their authorities.