Some individuals believe that students should be required to learn a survival skill, such as first aid or basic cooking, as part of their school curriculum. Why is this being suggested? Do you think this should be a mandatory part of education?

Some people claim that learners at different educational institutions are to obtain basic survival skills. There are a couple of reasons why these courses have to be integrated into school studying programme, such as a wide area of application and protection of students’ lives. To my mind, this innovation ought to be obligatory.

First and foremost, being able to provide first aid and ability to cook basic food might be applied in a variety of cases. When it comes to navigating everyday life, vast majority of students struggle to complete routine tasks, while having no challenges with mathematic equations or deep literature analysis. While the latter may come in handy in academic environment, the former eases the flow of life. By shifting focus to improving their survival competences, not only do students learn to operate under life-threatening circumstances, but they also significantly simplify their routine. Secondly, even if learners are not prone to disruptive behaviour, survival skills previously obtained at school are highly likely to prevent serious damage or even save their lives in case of emergency. It is a common knowledge that the sooner the information is obtained the longer it remains in our memory. Those people who are taught how to survive at an early age will be more resilient to dangers and react to them at higher speed.

Having considered what has been written before, I strongly support the initiative of introducing basic survival skills course into school curriculumn and reckon it has to be obligatory. If more educational institutions had implemented such subjects earlier, a lot of accidents could have been prevented.

To sum up, minimal skills to survive have to be taught at all schools at obligatory basis. Main reasons for this being applicable in different circumstances and increasing chances of saving students’ lives.