Some languages spoken by very few people are losing their importance and may become extinct completely. What are the reasons for this? Is it a positive or anegative development?

In recent years, dialects spoken by the minority of people are fading away in history. This essay attempts to explore the reasons behind this case, and I believe this trend has more unfavorable outcomes.

To commence with, there are several reasons for disappearance of rare languages. Firstly, the impact of global languages such as English is significant and it offers a plethora of benefits, so the speakers of languages which are going extinct, while seeking their career opportunities, opt for global languages. For instance, if they learn English instead of their native language, it will open many portals of growth. Moreover, because they abandon their own native dialect, their languages are going extinct. Furthermore, while immigrating for employment, it is challenging for minority speakers to find colleagues who can speak the same language. In India, for instance, people struggle to meet with the person who can speak their language, while working in major metropolitan areas, as India has almost 29 different traditional speaking languages.

To give my opinion, I believe it is a negative trend due to the repercussions of such extinct languages. To begin with, if such languages are lost, it will lead to loss of the identity of those native people. Moreover, their tradition, culture, and history will be forgotten, which is the loss of government. To add to it, if this minority is not united, their demands will be considered trivial by the authority. Which will deter them from ameliorating their living standards. To give an example, when the ancient scripts were found in Egypt, it was challenging for historians to decipher it. Due to the fact that, Egyptian carved languages had gone extinct hundreds of years ago.

To conclude, there are many reasons for minority speakers to embrace global dialect. However, the implications of extinction of languages should not be overlooked. I firmly believe this trend has detrimental consequences. And the government should make efforts to preserve their traditional rare spoken dialects.