Some observers say that police officers should be recruited from the communities where they work, so that they have local knowledge. Other people say that this is unnecessary, or even undesirable. Where do you stand on this debate? Is local knowledge essential in modern policing?

The common question I want to discuss sounds so: «Would it be useful, to recruit police officers from the spheres where they will work later?» As every topic this type it has as positive as well negative sides.

The first example to this kind of situation that appears in my head are guys, who were drug dealers, but nowadays they help the police to stop the narco-traffic. They’re helpful, because they know the system from the inside and can suggest the hidden right way. This situation is described well in the film «Catch me, if you can», where the main character becomes the police officer after being arrested.

This change can be conducted with a bunch of risks the changer becomes in charge with. Criminals don’t like people who jumped from their train and now help the police to catch them. They usually send killers to get rid of this people, especially if they were on a high position in the hierarchy. But not only this is dangerous for the recruiters: they have a chance to stuck between the criminal and the law worlds, being lost from both sides and having no real friends.

To conclude everything above I can say that this program is narrowly governmental and carrieristical: it has nothing to do with the humanity and focuses only on the productivity.