Some of the methods used in advertising are unethical and unacceptable in today's society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many of the approaches employed by brands for marketing are absolutely immoral and not acceptable in the concurrent world. I absolutely agree with the notion as many consumer brands play with their audience’s minds through various techniques to gain attention so as to sell out quickly, which is unjust.

To begin with, advertisements contain multiple unverified claims that instantly attract the conscious of the consumers, instilling a sense of ethos within the customer towards the product. Such manufacturing of facts leads to higher sales of a product as the general shoppers trust them blindly without any fact checking. For instance, a consumer products brand in the space of health and wellness pitched their commodity to Shark Tank India with unchecked statistics without any real lab testing, alluring the audience of the show to buy that product.

Furthermore, much of the brands also capitalise on the insecurities of a customer. Targeting the weakness of a consumer leads to them being uneasy about their own aspects, while portraying the commodity as the only solution to their problems, forcing the customers to try the product without giving a second thought due to which the products sell quickly. An Indian company Glow and Lovely for example, illustrate in their adverts how using their face cream would instantly bring a glow to skin, a topic that Indians are very sensitive about, exactly hitting the nerve.

To summarise, I do agree with the sentiment that the methods employed in many adverts in the recent times are morally unjust and need to be reconsidered.