It is important for children, young adults, working people and the retired to have at least one hobby. What's your opinion about this?

I mostly agree with the claim that it is important for children, young adults, working people and the retired to have at least one hobby. Hobbies can be very beneficial to all individuals regardless of age; however, they may also pose more negative than positive effects for some people.

These activities greatly improve both the mental and physical health of all people, especially children and young adults. During our current generation, the youth are completely entranced by their mobile phones and social media. Without the need of engaging with other people for entertainment, many isolate themselves from the rest of the world, and disregard their own health. Consequently, this greatly decreases the amount of physical activity they participate in, which negatively impacts their physical wellbeing. Sports like football, basketball and tennis provide a fun alternative to exercise, where these individuals can benefit from both the physical and social aspect of these activities.

Moreover, working people and the retired also face many problems that have risen as a result of the current generation. For these individuals, their issues have taken the form of several mental problems such as anxiety and depression, due to the increasing workload and responsibilities of both work and family life. Leisurely activities like taking long walks, or participating in social clubs can be very beneficial in these mental matters. They create safe positive environments where thoughts, opinions and issues can be freely expressed to a group or another person, allowing similarly aged people to relate to one another and help each other to persevere through their struggles.

In spite of this, for some, hobbies harbor more negative than positive effects, making participating in one worse than not. An example of this would be an individual in a period of mourning. These types of people may need time in isolation to process their own emotions, and as a result it would be better for them not to participate in a hobby.

Ultimately, hobbies are very important to almost all people with the exception of a few. They simplify the initial complex and intimidating idea of excercise in the form of sports. They allow people to freely talk about their struggles in a safe place, and overall have a positive effect on all individuals in general.