Some parents buy their children a large number of toys to play with. What are the advantages and disadvantages for the child of having a large number of toys? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant example from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Nowadays, many parents purchase a large amount of toys for their children to play with. This approach has both benefits and drawbacks, which I will explain in this essay.

On the one hand, the main advantage of buying many toys is that it helps the children’s growth and knowledge development. To begin with, there are numerous toys that can teach the kids such as numbers, colours, the alphabet, animal names, and their sounds, which is beneficial for the child’s growth. Additionally, these toys will help the kids and give their parents the opportunity to be involved in the learning process, this is essential to increase the benefits of a child’s brain development and personal growth. Besides, children will have the chance to enjoy a wonderful childhood, for example, I noticed many young adults still remember the times they enjoyed playing games and spending quality time with their parents.

On the other hand, the disadvantage of purchasing a large number of toys is the waste of money, if the children refuse to play with them or destroy them. This is because, often toddlers break and throw things, especially if these are delicate toys, and that is a part of their development and growth. Furthermore, when kids grow older, they will lose interest in playing with childish toys, which is normal. In addition, having a lot of collections of toys can make the house messy. As a result, disorganized homes filled with toys make a bad impression on visitors and are an uncomfortable environment to live in. Therefore, it is better to buy just a few toys at a time. For instance, I have purchased many toys for kids which were costly, however now my kids are grown up and no longer use the toys. Now the toys are taking up space in my home and I have absolutely no idea what to do with them.

In conclusion, buying several toys offers significant benefits as it supports children’s learning process, and gives them wonderful memories. However, the downsides include wasting a lot of money and creating a messy environment. However, I believe that we should give our kids toys and perhaps donate them afterwards instead of preventing our kids from enjoying these small joys.