Some parents buy their children whatever they ask for and allow their children to do whatever they want. Is this a good way to raise children? What consequences could this style of parenting have for children as they get older?

In contemporary society, some parents let their children purchase items regardless of their needs or give freedom in their actions. This style of nurturing the young generation may bring its benefits such as enhancing self-confidence and some drawbacks if they misuse it.

In my opinion, providing a wide range of options to children would help to inhale a sense of confidence and enable them to analyse pros and cons of their choices, enhancing their critical thinking skills. However parents should remember to teach how to make good decisions and own the responsibility for their actions. Scaffolding of parents by allowing children to make mistakes would minimise the physical and emotional damages in their young ages. For instance, learning to ride a bicycle is easier and quicker than learning it in adulthood. For this reason, it is crucial to allow young people to do what they are inclined for with adult supervision.

On other hand, if youths misuse the freedom and full support, then they may encounter several inevitable challenges such as health issues or addiction issues. Due to the impotent nature of children some people may exploit their vulnerability by using them for non loyalty purposes. Furthermore, if parents will buy children’s requests without questioning, children may not embrace responsibility and may not learn to analyse their choices thereby raising an immature generation who are not capable of solving their problems.

To conclude, from my perspective good parenting is not only about maintaining children’s needs and giving them full freedom, it’s more about preparing them for real life situations and teaching them life skills.