Some parents send their children to preschool when they are three or four years old. Other parent wait until their children are old enough for primary school. discuss the advantages and disadvantages of sending children to preschool at young age.

In recent years, a lot of arguments among parents have raised discussing whether it is appropriate to send young children between three to four years old to preschool as some parents believe that it is crucial to wait until they are old and ready enough for primary school. In my views, there are positive and negative outcomes that come along with these two choices.

The most positive feedback parents who send their young children to preschool at earlier stage always made is how their kids’ social interaction skills develop over a short time. Being in preschool allows these children to mingle around the kids the same age as them and as they often sing, dance and interact with each other, their language skills can be improved too. This is when parents mostly notice the “vocabulary bubble explosion” stage among their kids. In addition, preschool will also prepares the young children for early education childhood. A lot of schools nowadays provide a montessori curriculum which can expose them to various experiences and the educators often teach them basic life skills such as folding clothes, pouring water into the cups, table manners and many more.

However, despite the obvious appeals, it is also imperative for parents to acknowledge the inherent downwards that accompany this choice. The most common comment that parents who believe we should wait until the kids are fully ready for school made is how fragile is their emotional security at young age. They are more inclined to the fact that these younger kids are still not emotionally, mentally and physically ready yet to be left alone in an unfamiliar place without their parents or carers being present in their short radius. Not only that, even with a strict hygiene care, children who go to preschool frequently reported to get sick often. This is because young children has a weaker immune system as it is still developing, thus it makes it more easier for them to catch the virus and bacterias at school.

In conlusion, the decision to send kids to preschool at the earlier age will come with a lot of noticeable advantages and disadvantages. As much as it can help boosting their social skills and developments, parents should be aware with the negative outcomes that come with this choice.