Some people argue that economic development causes serious harm to the environment, so they believe we should stop developing further in order to protect it. Do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that the government should stop developing the economy to protect the environment. While this viewpoint is valid to some extent, I partly disagree with this notion as it offers certain drawbacks. However, there are also significant benefits that should be taken into consideration.

On the one hand, despite the potential advantages, this approach may give rise to several challenges. One major concern is that developing the economy does not always cause environmental pollution, which largely depends on the way a country manages its development process. If the government gives strict measures about the environment as well as investing in green technology, environmental issues will decline significantly. For example, nowadays, in many developing countries, governments encourage their people to use electronic vehicles to protect the environment and save energy, which will help their nations gradually develop.

On the other hand, there are several compelling reasons supporting the idea that developing the economy harms the environment as an unavoidable consequence. Today, many factories operate continuously to support the production process, which is mainly because countries always prioritize promoting their economies to ensure the life quality of people. As a result, this will cause many problems relevant to the environment like water pollution and air pollution. Therefore, if countries industrialize quickly and neglect the environmental factor, this will affect their sustainable life quality of both creatures and people.

In conclusion, although this approach has certain benefits, it also has some notable drawbacks. Therefore, I believe that a balanced approach should be adopted.