Some people argue that governments should spend more money on education, while others believe it is better to invest in infrastructure and public services. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The topic that inquires where the government should spend the economy on is always debatable. A segment of people opines on investing more in strengthening the educational standard of a country, while the other half believes in developing infrastructures, ensuring the public have easy access to all the facilities they deserve. This essay will shed light on both perspectives before concluding with my personal reflection.

There is no counter opinion on the philosophy that “Education is the backbone of development.” Acknowledging this principle has led a number of people to vote for education over other subjects in discussions regarding the appropriate utilization of national funds. It is next to impossible to find an underdeveloped nation with literate citizens and vice versa. This is because educated individuals are critical thinkers, scientific, and progressive in nature, which ultimately leads the community and the nation towards the path of prosperity. As a result, the belief that political power ought to prioritize the education sector while preparing plans for the national economy strongly prevails.

Having said that, the other segment of the population echoes the idea of investing in basic development activities such as building roads, bridges, hospitals, bus stands, and so on. Undoubtedly, these are the basic services that the public expect to enjoy and consider them to be the most crucial area the government needs to keep an eye on. Simultaneously, many people argue that educational progression comes under the umbrella of overall infrastructure development and the nation should focus on it collectively rather than prioritizing literacy alone.

These two viewpoints stay strong on their stances, shining bright, while it is also true that both reflect their shadows on each other. I personally stand with the idea that sings the enigma of education and keeps it at the front, raising its voice for sustainable education plans, putting forth the idea “Education for Development.”