Some people argue that history should not be taught in schools while others believe that it is still beneficial for students. Discuss your view.

In this day and age, some people are of the opinion that students should not be given historical lessons at school while others advocate that history still brings immense advantages in some ways. From my perspective, I reckon that albeit some potential drawbacks, it is favourable to work history into curriculum systems.

There are several reasons to explain why students should learn history in schools. Nowadays, thanks to the integration and development process, people are overstating and underscoring the magnitude of international bonds, languages, diminishing and dismissing our cultural features, traditions as well as history in particular. Unfortunately, the pedagogical methods make students fed up with orthodox lessons, turning history into a conundrum that they cannot derive from conventional teaching ways, which results in a sense of insipidness and subsequently, they just learn by rote to cope with teachers and satisfy their parents’ lofty hope. Therefore, it is doubtless that history needs to be taught in schools where students spend the bulk of time, making it a suitable and propitious interaction for historical education, with well-researched curricular or extra campaigns by the well-trained expertise of teachers. As a consequence, school may nurture students’ patriotism and will to build up a better country at a later date.

On the other hand, there are some palatable views towards the objection of teaching history at school that lies in students’ pressure and the limit or inflexibility of history. In today’s world, the more our world develops, the more students need to study to adapt to mercurial changes. In other words, parents or guardians’ high demand and expectations are directly and indirectly putting pupils on the brink of being snowed under heavy school work and revision, invalidating the idea of learning history at home to save up time studying in schools. Moreover, students nowadays are set their minds to acclimatize to a technocracy where experts in science and technology can climb up their career ladder and higher social rank or status more easily, hence, they knuckle down or cram for any exams or competitions, hoping that they can stand students in good stead and change them into a mine of information. As a result, many parents voice their opinion that students just need to learn history at home, not at schools, as they want their children to set aside more time to study other science-involved subjects for their future.

In short, I do believe that although there are many disadvantages at teaching history in schools, it is not a judicious idea to rule it out or expunge it from our educational systems. Besides, educators and parents had better care for their children’s well-being, not only their performances, so that they can make little time for history.