Both government and individual are spending vast amount of money protecting animals and their habitats. This money could be better spent dealing with fundamental issues in society such as poverty and healthcare. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Government and individuals are spending more money on protecting animals and their environment. However, many people think these funds should be allocated to more urgent issues such as poverty and healthcare. Although I agree that spending on protecting animals is important, I believe that environment and social issues require equal attention.

On the one hand, it is true that preserving animals and their habitats is essential because they are part of the ecosystem. In fact, spending money on their habitats can help to reduce some ecological problems such as climate change and air pollution which negatively impacts public health. Animal habitats require a large number of trees and plants which produce oxygen and clean air. Protecting animals maintains environmental balance, every species play a crucial role. If a species becomes endangered, it can destroy environmental balance.

On the other hand, governments should direct more finances to social issues like health care and poverty. It helps to improve quality of life and reduce mortality rates. In some areas, people do not have access for medical support and they may suffer from diseases that could be easily prevented. In addition, poverty can negatively affect health because people cannot afford medical expenditure. When people are healthier and financially stable, they are more productive and can take part in economic development.

The conclusion to be drawn is that protecting animals is important, governments should focus on social issues like healthcare and poverty, but ideally maintain a balance between both areas.