Some people argue that spending a lot of money on birthday parties, wedding parties, and other celebrations is a waste of money. However, others believe such parties are important for individuals and for society. Discuss

Some individuals believe that splurging on wedding parties, birthday parties, or other ceremonies is not essential, while others consider that those festivities play a vital role in their lives and society. Both views are justifiable, but I personally lean towards the latter.

It is understandable why some people subscribe to the view that there is little point in spending a ridiculous amount of money on festivities, ranging from weddings to birthdays. Firstly, a wedding is a normal celebration to share the joyous news of two families with everyone, and birthdays are just annual occasions to mark a new age, so excessive spending on decoration and food is a waste of wealth. Moreover, we can’t gain an understanding of what the person is into about food or drinks, which can create a large amount of leftover food. Excess food that we might readily discard, but for the poor who work tirelessly from dawn until dusk and still face hunger, that food is a precious resource. Therefore, in lieu of exorbitant expenditure on ceremonies, directing funds to assist the needy is more meaningful. In addition, many individuals incur substantial debt to impress others, which can be detrimental to both themselves and society. This perspective underscores that using a lot of money for festivities is not pivotal.

However, I side with those who say that holding luxurious parties on special occasions is very important. First and foremost, as it is their money, individuals have the autonomy to allocate it according to their preferences. They are capable of managing their finance in a manner that can create advantages for them. These festivities such as marriage are once in a lifetime. For the bride and groom, the event is deeply meaningful, so they are willing to spend generously on food, decorations, and attire to ensure lasting memories. Besides, this is an opportunity for family, friends, and significant individuals from both sides to come together in such a large gathering helping foster family values and strengthen bonds among each member. Consequently, investing in the venue and catering is a thoughtful choice to leave a lasting and positive impression on everyone. By the same token, celebrating birthdays annually is not merely about marking the transition to a new age; it is also an opportunity to reinforce social connection and sustain acquaintances, which will be highly beneficial for work in the future.

In conclusion, although there are justifiable reasons to say that splurging on wedding and birthday events is nothing more than an unwise expenditure, I still believe that we must consider the benefits they provide to each person.