Some people argue that technological inventions, such as mobile phones, are making people socially less interactive. Do you agree or disagree?

In the modern world, thanks to the development of technology, there were many devices were invented which have an impact on people’s communication . While I accept that using mobile phones helps us easily contact with others, I also believe that this trend is detrimental to the depth of human connection.

On the one hand, the invention of smartphones helps to enhance communication opportunities. With an internet-connected smartphone, we can keep in contact regularly with our family and friends separated great distances by making video call, sending messages or event videos. Using social media such as Facebook or Instagram helps us have more chances to interact with others as we can share our latest activities and get more personal information about someone whom we are caring about.

On the other hand, exposing too much to hand phones or other digital devices may lead to reduce social connection. This is because people are likely to spend more time on online entertainment activities instead of taking part in sports activities which not only improve their health but also help to develop communication abilities. My nephew, for instance, he usually plays video games and watches Tiktok videos after going back from school, he is becoming addicted to games and shy when talking to his neighbour’s kids. Furthermore, the lack of non-verbal communication in people who usually spend to on social networks might cause a decrease in social skills that might lead to ineffectively empress their emotion and misunderstand other’s feelings in real-life conservation.

In conclusion, although the inventions of technological gadgets provide some opportunities for connection, it seems to me that it has potentially negative effects on the result of communication.