Some people argue that technological inventions, such as mobile phones, are making people socially less interactive. Do you agree or disagree?

In contemporary times, is frequently argued that new technologies, such as computers, tablets, and smartphones, harm relationships and can contribute to increased anti-social behaviour. I firmly agree with the notion above, because these nowadays inventions are time-consuming and impersonal.

It is commonly believed that entertainment technologies should steal leisure time. This is because people spend the majority of their free time behind the screen. They are reading articles, chatting on social platforms with strangers, playing games, and listening to music, instead of spending more minutes with their close people. For instance, in 2014, the American Family Society provided data from research that only 3 males out of 100 were sharing their leisure time with their offspring by reading them a book, or with construction blocks.

Moreover, new inventions do not require personal contact. In other words, people should spend a whole day on social platforms and not feel the need to communicate with someone face-to-face. For example, my cousin has been creating friendships with his last boyfriend through the internet. After that, she needed help and support, when her mother died. However, her virtual friendships were impersonal and very cold, therefore she could not expect deeper feelings or cuddle from them. Consequently, she struggled with a close person, who would provide her with a safe place.

In conclusion, I strongly agree that modern instruments are harmful to many relationships, especially for families. Children get illustrations of how their parents are busy and they do not have a chance to build and share deeper feelings with them, which can negatively contribute to their well-being. These individuals have lost interactions with the real world and are confused by imaginary relationships.