Some people believe governments should provide free healthcare for all citizens. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In contemporary society, a high level of social stratification brings about numerous problems, including the slowing of technological advancements and the further exacerbation of inequality. Some believe that to address this issue, it is essential to provide free education and free healthcare for all people. I strongly believe that this policy will help not only to develop science but also to bridge the gap between wealthy and underprivileged individuals.

To begin with, it appears that the development of science is inextricably linked to education. This is because to become scientists, people have to master their field and discover new phenomena, which they commonly do at subsidized academic institutions. Free access to education fuels the people’s desire to become scientists, resulting in rapid development of new technologies. A prime example is Nikola Tesla, who was from a socially disadvantaged family; however, through his genuine interest and free education he became one of the most renowned and prestigious scientists in history. Thus, financial barriers act as a deterrent to overall development of technology and removing them is essential to catalyse scientific progression.

Secondly, free healthcare yields tangible results, such as the mitigation of inequality worldwide. As finances pave the way for better medical advances and services, underprivileged families struggle to find a cure for their diseases, thereby increasing the gap between these social groups. Therefore, an accessible healthcare system plays an indispensable role in providing equal opportunities for everyone. For instance, Luxembourg has one of the lowest inequality rates in the world, which is largely due to its free medical support. Hence, for governments to bridge the gap between rich and socially disadvantaged people, it is essential to provide equal opportunities for all their citizens, including healthcare.

In conclusion, increased levels of inequality are a pressing issue globally, thus some people believe that for governments accessible healthcare and education is the only viable solution to alleviate this burden. I agree, and in my view only through these policies can we hope to accelerate scientific progress and to reduce inequality in the world.