Some people believe governments should strictly control population growth, while others think people should have the freedom to decide family size. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The increase in population around the globe is undeniable; as a result, many countries falll short to give their citizens a good quality of life. Some people contend that governments should control population growth, while many individuals believe that citizens should have the freedom to decide how many children they want to have. I firmly believe that, although governments should only control family size in exreme situations of overpopulation, people should have the right to decide their family size.

There are situations in which policymakers’ decisions about the number of children allowed for each family are justified due to overpopulation. Some cities have had this issue, and the only viable solution to stop an extreme disruption in the economy and environment was to control family size. For instance,, after world war II, in some Asian countries like Japan, there was an uncontrollable population growth that disrupted society to a great extent. Therefore, its government implemented a campaign about birth control using nurses to spread the word among citizens. Furthermore, all types of contraseptive methods were given to citizens to limit the number of new borns.

However, when social circumnstances are normal, people should have the freedom to decide family size. This freedom of choice has been the general environment existing in western countries because there was never an extreme overpopulation issue. Having such a freedom has had the opposite result, and family size has decreased over the years. For example, Europe has an ageing population with fewer young individuals in countries like Italy and France. Family size is a crucial decision in people’s life, and governments should not be involved in their personal matters. Individuals are responsible for their children and work to raise them, so governments should give citizens well-paid jobs to make it happen.

In conclusion, while governments are allowed to decide family size in extreme situations of overpopulation, citizens should have the right to have as many children as they want. Asian countries had to implement such measures, and western nations could always enjoy the freedom of choosing family size. Fortunalety, in todays’ society, people of all continents enjoy this freedom because, even though the world population still grows, there are not extreme situations of overpopulation. Governments should prevent overpopulation situations in advance to avoid the unwelcomed decision of controlling family size.