Some people believe handwriting is no longer useful in modern world and should not be taught in schools. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that handwriting is an outdated skill in the contemporary world. Therefore, it should not be taught in school. This essay partially agrees with that, because handwriting can cultivate students’ memories. However, as we are living in a digital society, they need to learn other skills such as typing.

Moreover, one of the primary advantages of learning handwriting in an educational setting is that it stimulates the brain’s ability to recall and store information. The physical act of writing engages both hemispheres of the brain, thereby enhancing information recall and processing, for example, a study conducted by Mecca University reports that, students who take notes by hand in class are less prone to dementia, because all parts of the brain are engaged. To illustrate, when I was in high school, I would memorize the lessons faster, if I wrote them down. This further suggests the positive effects of writing on cognitive functions.

However, it is crucial to point out that we are living in an innovative world, therefore, teaching pupils how to type on a keyboard will definitely help them thrive. Many prestigious companies such as, Aramco require, their employees to type 150 words per minute. Furthermore, a research from King Salman Research Center states that keyboarding needs to be developed from a young age, it is difficult to pick it up later in life .This research highlights the significant impact of keyboarding on a child’s future.

To conclude, keyboarding is a fundamental skill, but penmanship has a beneficial effect on cognitive functions and it should not be neglected. I believe that, both skills should be part of the schooling curriculum.