Some people believe online education will replace traditional schools, while others think face-to-face learning will always be necessary. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The increasing digitalisation of today’s society has heralded in unprecedented ubiquity for computer-based learning, especially in higher educational levels. Against such a backdrop, a portion of the general public envisions a future where online education completely eradicates conventional tertiary institutions, where others highlight the importance of the college experience and physical communications with educators. In this essay, both sides of the debate will be thoroughly analysed before positing the opinion that the coexistence of both educational models is ideal.

To begin with, it is indisputable that online learning possesses a myriad of advantages in comparison to its traditional counterpart. The allure of digital education lies in its flexibility and self-coordination, as students can independently sign up for classes and arrange their learning schedules according to their liking, while lectures can be attended virtually in any location. In contrast, the timetable of conventional university is often pre-arranged, leaving little space for personalization and flexibility. Additionally, computer-based courses have democratised collegiate education for the masses. Physical colleges are inherently expensive, leading to many students incurring staggering student loans and debts, and the fact that top universities are typically located in major cities presents another obstacle for students living in rural areas in the pursuit of a higher education. Thus, online tertiary courses become a popular option by virtue of its affordability and accessibility. A salient example is the online collegiate programs run by Oxford University, allowing those from all classes and locations to attend lectures virtually and acquiring degrees, generating learning opportunities for all.

However, traditional, face-to-face tertiary education remains irreplaceable, irrespective of the surging popularity of online learning. Campus experiences constitute a major part in students’ college lives, as they foster connection and refine necessary skills. Being on university campus in person creates chances for students to network and engenders long-lasting bonds with fellow learners, while also teaching them important virtues through various on-campus activities and lessons. For instance, Fresher Week, a week-long event organised for newcomers in various British institutions, is a valuable opportunity for students to socialise and establish a network, while also learning academic and informal skills such as communication skills, teamwork, leadership, and so forth, via exciting activities and lectures. Furthermore, physical discussions with professors have their own merits. Face-to-face interactions allow for more intimate and intellectually stimulating classroom discussions, helping students to thoroughly comprehend the learning materials and lectures while establishing lasting academic relationships with educators.

In summation, while digital learning offers flexibility and accessibility, its ability to comprehensively replace the valuable on-site experiences and physical interactions with professors that traditional universities offer remains elusive. Ultimately, each educational model exists in its own lane with its own set of merits and demographics, meaning that they will continue to coexist with each other instead of rendering one another obsolete.