Some people believe that a crime is a result of social problems and poverty, others think that crime is a result of a bad person's nature. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Crime can often be explained through a criminal’s psychological traits. However, some people may find it insufficient and argue that the reason is criminals are influenced by social backgrounds and motivations. In my opinion, I agree that external factors are more often the cause of most crimes.

On the one hand, from some people’s point of view, social issues breed problematic people, effectively shaping individuals into offenders. Many felonies committed are solely caused by the upbringings of the criminals, or by life struggles that pushed and drove them into a life of crime. This is evident by the fact that poverty is mostly the primary factor of both minor and major charges. People are driven by the need for money, either to support their families or to survive, to do almost anything. Most small robberies are caused by people who don’t get enough care, which leads them into believing that they need to steal in order to thrive.

On the other hand, there is a significant difference between deprivation and greed. While a person can exhibit traits of deprivation when they are desperate, it doesn’t mean wealthy individuals are unable to commit crime. In other words, some are born cold-blooded and inhumane. These people do not act out of desperation, but malice. For example, some criminals who were arrested and charged with serious offences often did it completely for satisfaction. They act not for their advantage, but for their wrongful amusement.

In conclusion, while social problems, indeed, are causes of many crimes, a person’s mental health and morality play a big role in whether they will or will not commit heinous acts. From my own perspective, I believe people who think the causes are external factors and particular circumstances are more correct.